Dawson County Sheriff's Office
How to Apply for a Firearms License
The Probate Court of Dawson County issues firearms licenses to all qualified persons who are residents of Dawson County, Georgia. The firearms license authorizes a person to carry a handgun on or about his or her person, openly, and/or in certain concealed positions. Concealed positions include in a shoulder or waist belt holster, hip grip, or similar device, handbag, purse, attaché case, briefcase, or other closed container.
Firearms licenses may be obtained Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 3:30 pm. Applicants must report to the Dawson County Probate Court to apply for a firearms license. Requirements for a firearms permit include:
Must be 21 years of age;
Must be a resident of Dawson County, Georgia;
Must submit a picture identification including physical address;
Must submit to a criminal background check before any license is issued (if the applicant has been convicted of any drug charges, misdemeanor or felony, or if there are any convictions or pending charges under the Domestic Violence Act, a firearm permit will not be issued. Convicted felons and persons suffering from mental illness are also barred from receiving a permit to carry a concealed weapon. If you have questions regarding the various prohibitions for firearms licenses, you may discuss the issues in person with Probate Court personnel); and
Fees: $72.50 cash, cashier check, or money order made payable to Dawson County Probate Court at time of application and $5.00 cash which must be presented to the Dawson County Detention Center at the time the applicant appears for fingerprinting.
If approved, the license is valid for five years.
For additional information relating to the application for a firearms permit, please contact the Dawson County Probate Court at 706-344-3580.
Possessing of Carrying a Handgun or Long Gun O.C.G.A § 16-11-126
Having or carrying handguns, long guns, or other weapons; license requirement; exceptions for homes, motor vehicles, and other locations and conditions; penalties for violations
a) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business without a valid weapons carry license.
b) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a long gun without a valid weapons carry license, provided that if the long gun is loaded, it shall only be carried in an open and fully exposed manner.
c) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry any handgun provided that it is enclosed in a case and unloaded.
d) Any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun who is eligible for a weapons carry license may transport a handgun or long gun in any private passenger motor vehicle; provided, however, that private property owners or persons in legal control of property through a lease, rental agreement, licensing agreement, contract, or any other agreement to control access to such property shall have the right to forbid possession of a weapon or long gun on their property, except as provided in Code Section 16-11-135.
e) Any person licensed to carry a handgun or weapon in any other state whose laws recognize and give effect to a license issued pursuant to this part shall be authorized to carry a weapon in this state, but only while the licensee is not a resident of this state; provided, however, that such licensee shall carry the weapon in compliance with the laws of this state.
f) Any person with a valid hunting or fishing license on his or her person, or any person not required by law to have a hunting or fishing license, who is engaged in legal hunting, fishing, or sport shooting when the person has the permission of the owner of the land on which the activities are being conducted may have or carry on his or her person a handgun or long gun without a valid weapons carry license while hunting, fishing, or engaging in sport shooting.
g) Notwithstanding Code Sections 12-3-10, 27-3-1.1, 27-3-6, and 16-12-122 through 16-12-127, any person with a valid weapons carry license may carry a weapon in all parks, historic sites, or recreational areas, as such term is defined in Code Section 12-3-10, including all publicly owned buildings located in such parks, historic sites, and recreational areas, in wildlife management areas, and on public transportation; provided, however, that a person shall not carry a handgun into a place where it is prohibited by federal law.
h) (1) No person shall carry a weapon without a valid weapons carry license unless he or she meets one of the exceptions to having
such license as provided in subsections (a) through(g) of this Code section.
(2) A person commits the offense of carrying a weapon without a license when he or she violates the provisions of paragraph (1)
of this subsection.
i) Upon conviction of the offense of carrying a weapon without a valid weapons carry license, a person shall be punished as follows:
(1) For the first offense, he or she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor; and
(2) For the second offense within five years, as measured from the dates of previous arrests for which convictions were obtained
to the date of the current arrest for which a conviction is obtained, and for any subsequent offense, he or she shall be guilty of a
felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned for not less than two years and not more than five years.
Additional Georgia Laws Governing Firearms Licenses
Applicants are encouraged to read all Georgia Laws governing firearm(s) possession. Georgia Laws can be located at http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/gacode/. To review firearm code section(s), type the corresponding code title in the search field, and click search. A list of searched code sections will appear. Click on the desired title to read the code section. Special characters can be omitted during searches. Code titles are as follows:
§ 16-11-125.1 Definitions
§ 16-11-126 Possessing or carrying a handgun or long gun
§ 16-11-127 Carrying a weapon in unauthorized locations
§ 16-11-127.1 Weapons on school safety zones, school buildings or grounds or at school functions
§ 16-11-127.2 Possession of weapons on nuclear power facility premises
§ 16-11-128 Repealed by Laws 2010, Act 643, § 1-6, eff. June 4, 2010
§ 16-11-129 License to weapons carry
§ 16-11-130 Exemptions
§ 16-11-131 Convicted felons, possession of firearms prohibited
§ 16-11-132 Possession of handgun by persons under 18
Carrying a Firearm in a State other than Georgia
Laws regarding firearms vary from state to state; therefore, firearm permits issued in Georgia may or may not be recognized in other states. Prior to carrying a firearm in a state other than Georgia, individuals are strongly encouraged to contact law enforcement agencies in the destination state regarding firearm possession laws.