Dawson County Sheriff's Office

Uniform Patrol

Disappeared Line

Return to home page

Uniform Patrol continues to be the most visible of all divisions within the Dawson County Sheriff’s Office. Responsibilities of this division include, but are not limited to, responding to emergency calls for service, enforcing state and federal laws, and conducting crime prevention patrols. This division is comprised of twenty-two P.O.S.T. certified officers who provide 24-hour law enforcement services to the citizens and visitors of Dawson County. While responding to thousands of calls for service during 2012, patrol deputies assisted and collaborated with community members to resolve a number of diverse issues. The patrol deputies’ professional and thorough approach to calls for assistance demonstrated their dedication to delivering the highest level of service to our community. Our patrol deputies embrace all challenges of patrolling a geographically diverse county. To aid in service, Dawson County is divided into five patrol zones, which are as follows:

Zone 1 – Northeast side of county, which includes Highway 400 north of Highway 53 East

Zone 2 – West side of the county, which includes Highway 9 South and Kelly Bridge Road

Zone 3 – North side of the county, which includes Burnt Mountain and the Amicalola Falls area

Zone 4 – Dawsonville perimeter

Zone 5 – Southeast side of the county, which includes Highway 400 south of Highway 53 East

Officers rotate zone coverage to ensure familiarity with all geographical areas within Dawson County. Each officer is assigned to one zone per shift. Each shift is comprised of one sergeant, one corporal, and three officers. The corporal serves as shift supervisor in the absence of the sergeant. The corporal also serves as a field training officer who is tasked with responsibility of training new members of the Uniform Patrol Division.



Major - Greg Rowan

Lieutenant - Eric Johnson

Default Frame